Indie Rock from Yesterday, Today, and Tomorrow

Music Report – October 7, 2020

by Jay Boeding on October 6, 2020

Cults holds at #1 on the Album Chart. Flaming Lips moves up three to the runner up spot. Doves climbs one, San Cisco goes from seven to #4 and Bright Eyes remains in the Top 5. Album chart debuts from Sylvan Esso and Cayucas this week.

Dawes headlines a big week of new albums added! Laura Jane Grace and Kurt Vile return with new tunes, as well as a reissue from Rilo Kiley. Several artists making their presence known for the first time on DMPulse, lead by Working Men’s Club and Yves Jarvis.

Dawes makes a leap to #1, climbing up four spots on the Songs Chart. Last week’s number one, Sylvan Esso nudges down one to #2. Fontaines D.C. climbed up six spots, and beabadoobee cracks the top 5. Other top10 debuts this week from Bright Eyes, Darcys and BOYO.

Top 10 Albums of the Week

1. Cults – Host
2. The Flaming Lips – American Head
3. Doves – The Universal Want
4. San Cisco – Between You And Me
5. Bright Eyes – Down In The Weeds, Where The World Once Was
6. Samia – The Baby
7. Bully – SUGAREGG
8. Fleet Foxes – Shore
9. Sylvan Esso – Free Love
10. Cayucas – Blue Summer

New Albums Added to the Playlist

1. Dawes – Good Luck With Whatever (HUB/Rounder)
2. Working Men’s Club – Working Men’s Club (Heavenly/PIAS)
3. Yves Jarvis – Sundry Rock Song Stock (Anti-)
4. Laura Jane Grace – Stay Alive (Polyvinyl)
5. Rilo Kiley – Rilo Kiley (Little) (Reissue)
6. Hen Ogledd – Free Humans (Weird World)
7. Elvis Perkins – Creation Myths (MIR/Petaluma)
8. Misty Boyce – Genesis (Self-Released)
9. Kurt Vile – Speed, Sound, Lonely KV [EP] (Matador/Beggars)

Top 10 Songs of the Week

1. Dawes – Who Do You Think You’re Talking To?
2. Sylvan Esso – Ferris Wheel
3. Fontaines D.C. – Televised Mind
4. Dream Wife – RH RN
5. beabadoobee – Care
6. Mondo Cozmo – Come On
7. Bright Eyes – Mariana Trench
8. Water Liars – Darkest Road
9. The Darcys – Look Me In The Eyes
10. BOYO – Summer Home

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: