Indie Rock from Yesterday, Today, and Tomorrow

Music Report – Feb. 27, 2019

by Jay Boeding on February 26, 2019

Beirut jumps two places to take over the top spot on the Top Albums chart this week, bumping Pedro the Lion. Deerhunter moves up two spots to #2. Toro Y Moi, Sharon Van Etten and last week’s #1 album by Pedro the Lion go #3-#5. Only one album chart debut this week, Bob Mould with his latest album “Sunshine Rock”.

Some great new records this week! Telekinesis tops the Added Albums chart, with the record “Effluxion” debuting on DMPulse this week. Returnee Bad Bad Hats lands at #4, but this week is all about brand new artists to our playlist. Slide, Emilie Kahn and Bellows all are impressive records. Tune in to hear great new tracks!

Alice Merton makes a big move this week up from #6 to take the top song of the week crown. Growlers makes an even bigger move, as it rises seven spots but doesn’t quite make the top of the charts. Sharon Van Etten, Ex Hex and Spud Cannon round out the top 5.

Top Ten Albums of the Week

1. Beirut – Gallipoli
2. Deerhunter – Why Hasn’t Everything Already Disappeared?
3. Toro Y Moi – Outer Peace
4. Sharon Van Etten – Remind Me Tomorrow
5. Pedro the Lion – Phoenix
6. Bob Mould – Sunshine Rock
7. Deer Tick – Mayonnaise
8. Maggie Rogers – Heard It In A Past Life
9. Jeff Tweedy – Warm
10. Tallies – Tallies

New Albums Added to the Playlist

1. Telekinesis – Effluxion (Merge)
2. Slide – Into Happiness [EP] (If Music Could Talk / AWAL)
3. Emilie Kahn – Outro (Secret City)
4. Bad Bad Hats – Lightning Round (Afternoon)
5. Bellows – The Rose Gardener (Topshelf)
6. Moving Panoramas – In Two (Modern Outsider)
7. SUSTO – Ever Since I Lost My Mind (Rounder / Concord)
8. Westkust – Westkust (Run For Cover)

Top 10 Songs of the Week

1. Alice Merton – Funny Business
2. The Growlers – Problems III
3. Sharon Van Etten – Seventeen
4. Ex Hex – Cosmic Cave
5. Spud Cannon – Runaway Strays
6. Young the Giant – Superposition
7. Radiohead – Ill Wind
8. Deerhunter – Element
9. Oh Pep! – Hurt Nobody
10. Wintersleep – Surrender


Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: